Well, that’s just great!

I spent, last week, more than a couple of hours writing and re-writing and editing and shit.  Then when I finally decided that I was ready to hit “send” or “post” or whatever, the thing I’d been writing as maniacally as I could muster considering a profound lack of caffeine had, well, shit got all fucked up and it was gone.  I’m just a guy who wants things to work when I need them to work.  Like my car.  Unlock the door, sit in the sit, put the key in the ignition and turn it.  Remember to push in the clutch.  Turn key again.  Drive off.  Close door.  I’m terribly lazy that way.  With all this computer and technology shit, you’d think I’d be able to pull my head out of my ass just long enough to figure out how to post a blog thing.  Post.  Whatever.
I used to do this blog thing, for like 6 months, about four years ago.  But it was half-assed and I couldn’t really get into it, and then it just kind of disappeared, which is fine by me.  And then a few weeks ago when I decided to get a new one of these up and running, I couldn’t remember the password to the old blog, so now it just sits there, dormant, kinda lost in space.  If you ever run across it, sorry for the poor writing.  It’s kinda like a couple of years ago, when I found all the short stories I’d written in college, because I thought I was going to be a fucking Cheever or Updike or Carver or some shit.  So I go back and read all the stories, and I get like nine sentences in and I’m so humiliated by the whole thing I throw all of them in the trash.  Oh God, they were bad.  You could pretty much tell within the first paragraph of each story exactly who I’d been reading immediately before I picked up the pen.  Fucking awful.

Anyway, so here we are, and we’re going to make this as much about running as possible, though you probably already know that ain’t gonna happen.  I mean, here we are three paragraphs in and I’m just now getting around to it.  And I want this to be about running, and not the event-driven activity that we have going on now.  These moving circuses of achievement.  I love that there are, like, a million people doing marathons and shit, but I’m not a fan of it as a bucket list thing, a social endeavor to occupy the time when you’re not planting your kids in another activity that involves uniforms and shit, so you don’t have to actually entertain them or spend time with them.  I’m gonna sound like a big ol’ giant asshole right now, but I don’t understand the concept of paying shit tons of money to travel to some place to run through a city or town or whatever, pick up a kick ass t-shirt and get a free spaghetti dinner, for fun, for the experience.  If I’m going to go on a fun run, I don’t want it to cost a gillion fucking dollars.  Man, what a dick.

The main topics I’m going to focus on are the things that appear to create the most fuss or discussion, so that’s what I’m going to focus on.  Shoes, which I like talking about least because it’s the least important part of the equation, will be no. 1, because it seems that people want to talk about that the most.  Nutrition will be in there some, though I could summarize it in like two sentences, and training, because that’s what we do when we’re running, in most cases.  At least around these parts.

So I’ll give you a little something something to think about while we’re waiting for the coffee to perc.   In each of these topics–footwear, nutrition, training–we get it wrong because we focus too much on the individual components, or the variables, or the whatever you want to call them–the little stuff.  We don’t see the forest for the trees.  We don’t look at the big picture.  For whatever reason we like to deconstruct whatever it is we’re talking about and then focus on the little pieces until we’ve forgot what we were talking about.  And when we do that we have created this artificial barrier to the goals we set for ourselves.  Each of these topics, then, will be discussed from a point of view a little further back than you might normally stand.

So, um, yeah.
I don’t know how I’m going to do this, so please bear with me.  I’ll try to be as focused as possible, but one never knows how the coffee intake will go, or where it will take me.  My overall intention is to talk about running with people who want to talk about running as a sport, and not as a means to an event, if that makes any sense.  Running is so simple, yet because we are who we are, we tend to make it less so.  I want to show that it needn’t be any more difficult that it is.

Leave a Reply

