Sayonara, Musha, Ronin. Hello, Hitogami!

MSAYOM1-1

The word on the street is the introduction next month of the Mizuno Sayonara.  You know that shit’s gonna be worth some snuggle time.  Went down to the Bed, Bath and Beyond and stocked up on my favorite sexy candles.  You know, mood candles.  The only way this could be any more of sure thing would be if I could find my cassette tape with Extreme’s “More than Words.”  You know what I’m talking about.

I’m excited about it because 1.) I get excited by new, swanky models, and 2.) Mizuno are putting some focus on the running end of the shoe spectrum, rather than the, um, fashiony end.  Not that there’s anything wrong with the fashiony end, is there?  I mean, everyone’s doing it.  It’s just not my thing.  Almost all of the Big 7 pay some sort of attention to that side of things, because of, you know, money, but I’m not really interested in that kind of stuff and have you seen the way I dress?

I like Mizuno.  They make some killer product—and have easily the most cult-like following of all the big running shoe companies—and the people I’ve met who work there are super nice.  They’re the kind of nice that after you meet them you think maybe you should go online and do a criminal background check because no one is that nice.  Like Canadians nice.

Mizuno do venture into the fashiony world, which is cool, but still:  The Prophecy are a $200 behemoth—the bipedal version of the Hummer with the wood fired pizza oven in the back.  They are just over-the-top, if-you-build-it-they-will-buy-it fun.  I think we can all agree that the last few years swing toward less-is-more was precipitated by absurdly overbuilt shoes.  The Prophecy are a poster child of absurdly overbuilt shoes.  The Prophecy are KISS boots.

But Mizuno also make some of my very favorite models.  I’ve got a mostly inappropriate relationship with the Musha.  They’ve got full ground contact, which is the way you make shoes when you want to make shoes for actual, you know, running.  (The Musha’s predecessor, the Revolver, made me write bad haiku, which I’d then sing as power ballads at the open mic night.  I don’t want to talk about it anymore.)  The Musha are going Sayonara, sort of, ‘cept different.1

The new Sayonara will replace the Precision, and rightly so.  Those were great shoes, but I think perhaps a little stuck.   It was barely lighter than the Rider, which are going through their own much needed evolution, and as lightweight shoes go, had got caught behind the curve when the whole lighter/lower revolution got rolling.  The new Sayonara, a descendant in name only to the old Wave Goodbye, weighs in under 8 oz and are supposed to bring the mahasmooth.  My man Seth, who works for Mizuno and has a Black Flag tshirt, so we might be related, said, “Dude,” when I asked him if he liked them.  I don’t need anything more than that, nomesane?  I haven’t had the opportunity to check them out yet, because I’m not cool enough, but the word is that when you run in them, angels would back up Depeche Mode at ACL, which you would get into for like, free.  Angels.  Like, real angels.  With wings and shit.

So as soon as I can get hold of some of these bonermakers, I’ll let you know what’s what.

1        Hitogomi           JesusMaryandJoseph!  bit.ly/19OVqJL 2

 

 2                   Lotta religious stuff going on here.

Leave a Reply

